About The Council
Website Search

Roll of Honorary Freemen and Aldermen

A comprehensive list of all groups and individuals that have received the award of Honorary Freeman, Alderman or Freedom of Entry to the Borough since the honour was first awarded in 1979.

Freedom of Entry 2010

Broxtowe Borough Council resolved unanimously that the Freedom of Entry to the Borough of Broxtowe be conferred upon 170 (Infrastructure Support) Engineer Group.170 (Infrastructure Support) Engineer Group Displays a larger version of this image in a new browser window

The honour was awarded in recognition of the unit's outstanding achievements, commitment and dedication in the service of this country and as an expression of the high regard in which they are held by the Council and members of the community.

In March 2010, over 150 soldiers from 170 (Infrastructure Support) Engineer Group marched through Beeston giving local people a chance to salute them as they carried out a special Military Parade 'flags flying and bayonets fixed' led by the Nottinghamshire Band of the Royal Engineers (Volunteers).

Honorary Freeman & Aldermen 1979-2010

Year Name
1979Mrs F E Bradley dec
1979J W Plowman MBE dec
1979F N Saxton dec
1988W Hayes dec
1988B R Russell dec
1988Mrs D Smith BEM dec
1988C Dyson dec
1988W T Fuller dec
1988A Martin dec
1990Aram JP dec
1990F R Hall-Carter dec
1990C Mason dec up
1990G D Smedley
1994Mrs E E Dunn dec
1994W Engelgardt dec
1998Mrs K Archer dec
1998W Gregory
1998K Marsland
1998J W Wormall dec
1998Stadt Gutersloh
2002Margaret Cooper dec
2002Kathleen Jenkins
2002Tore Norman
2002Hazel Braithwaite dec
2002Tom Martin C de G dec
2002Ann Morris
2002Sir Dennis Pettit dec
2006Barbara Mary Brooke
2006Margaret Ann Burnside
2006Kaye Ford
2006Karl Mocha - dec
2006Janet Thorley
2006Gerald John Saville
2006Terry Syson
2006John B White dec
2010Paddy Farrel
2010Ghulam Mayauddin
2010Roy Plumb
2010Brian Sanders
2010Colin Slater MBE
2010Peggy Wainwright (nee Payne)
2010Bill Wheatley MBE
2010Bob Lilley
2010170 (Infrastructure Support) Engineer Group - Freedom of Entry


The latest Freeman & Alderman were admitted in 2014. You can see who they are in the image gallery below.

2014 – Burgermeisterin Maria Unger 2014 – Barry Thorley 2014 – Jessie Clarke 2014 – Ron Faulks (Dec) 2014 – Patrick Hamilton

Navigation Tips

Please select an image above to view the larger version. When viewing a larger image use the left and right arrow keyboard keys or your mouse to view other images. Select the close button or press the ESC key to exit.

Page Last Updated: 03/03/2016