Past Mayors

Past Mayors

Find out about the Council's Past Mayors.

In 1977 the Council was granted Borough status and the first Mayor was elected. Since being granted Borough status in 1977, there have been 43 Mayors in office including the current Mayor, Councillor Michael Brown.

The Mayor represents the Borough by attending over 250 events during their civic year in office. These engagements include official openings, play schemes, sports functions, charity events, special occasions such as golden weddings and other significant anniversaries and birthdays.

Current Mayor

Find out about the current Mayor and Deputy Mayor. 

Past Mayors

Information about Past Mayors is currently being curated and more will be added to this page shortly. 

Councillor Derek Burnett BEM

2018/19 - Councillor Derek Burnett BEM

Conservative Councillor for Nuthall West and Watnall.

Councillor Derek Burnett was Mayor during the 2018/19 Civic Year.

A former Police Officer, Derek supported the Soldiers, Sailors and Airmen Families Association (SSAFA) and East Midlands Ambulance Service during his time as Mayor.



Halimah Khaled MBE2017/18 - Councillor Halimah Khaled MBE

Conservative Councillor for Toton and Chilwell Meadows.

Councillor Halimah Khaled MBE was Mayor during the 2017/18 Civic Year. 

Halimah supported Wellbeing of Women during her Civic Year.




Graham Harvey2016/17 - Councillor Graham Harvey

Conservative Councillor for Chilwell West. 

Councillor Graham Harvey was Mayor during the 2016/17 Civic Year.

He spent his career working at Plessey Telecommunications.

Graham raised funds for Prostate Cancer during his year in Office.



Councillor Susan Bagshaw2015/16 - Councillor Susan Bagshaw

Labour Councillor for Eastwood Hilltop.

Councillor Susan Bagshaw was Mayor during the 2015/16 Civic Year.

Chair of the Eastwood Volunteer Bureau, Councillor Susan Bagshaw chose Nottingham Hospitals Charity and Forces In The Community as her charities. 




Stan Heptinstall2014/15 - Councillor Stan Heptinstall MBE

Liberal Democrat Councillor for Bramcote.

Councillor Stan Heptinstall MBE was Mayor during the 2014/15 Civic Year.

He spent his career a Professor of Thrombosis and Haemostasis at the University of Nottingham.

He raised funds for Hope Nottingham and Cancer Research UK whilst he was Mayor.




Iris White2013/14 - Councillor Iris White

Labour Councillor for Stapleford North.

Councillor Iris White was Mayor during the 2013/14 Civic Year.

She supported Treetops Hospice and The Helpful Bureau during her time as Mayor.





Margaret Handley2012/13 - Councillor Margaret Handley

Conservative Councillor for Greasley.

Councillor Margaret Handley was Mayor during the 2012/13 Civic Year.

She spent her career as a teacher.

She supported The Ryan Lee Trust and The Royal British Legion. 




Jacky Williams2011/12 - Councillor Jacky Williams

Liberal Democrat Councillor for Stapleford South East.

Councillor Jacky Williams was Mayor during the 2011/12 Civic Year.

She supported Rainbows Hospice and The Salvation Army during her time as Mayor.

Jacky spent her career as a Senior Research Fellow in the Medical schools of Warwick University and the University of Nottingham.




Pat Lally2010/11 - Councillor Pat Lally 

Labour Councillor for Beeston Central.

Councillor Pat Lally was Mayor during the 2010/11 Civic Year.

He spent most of his career in manufacturing engineering.

Pat supported Parish Pantry and St George’s Mother and Child Hospital in Nigeria during his year in office.




John Longdon2009/10 – Councillor John Longdon

Councillor John Longdon was Mayor during the 2009/10 Civic Year.

He spent his career as an Engineer.

John supported Help For Heroes and Breathe Easy during his time as Mayor.





Sue Wildey2008/09 - Councillor Sue Wildey 

Councillor Sue Wildey was Mayor during the 2008/09 Civic Year.

Sue worked in newspaper advertising.

Sue supported When You Wish Upon a Star and D.A.R.E UK during her time as Mayor.




Brian Wombwell2007/08 - Councillor Brian Wombwell

Councillor Brian Wombell was Mayor during the 2007/08 Civic Year.

Brian spent his career as a Contracts Engineer. 

Brian supported the NSPCC during his time as Mayor.




Doug Wilcockson2006/07 - Councillor Doug Wilcockson 

Councillor Doug Wilcockson was Mayor during the 2006/07 Civic Year.

Doug worked as a Site Manager.

Doug supported Marie Curie Cancer Care during his time as Mayor.




Lynda Lally2005/06 - Councillor Lynda Lally

Councillor Lynda Lally was Mayor during the 2005/06 Civic Year.

Lynda was a hairdresser before working in various community roles.

Lynda supported Victim Support Nottinghamshire during her time as Mayor.




Christine Wombwell2004/05 - Councillor Christine Wombwell

Councillor Christine Wombwell was Mayor during the 2014/05 Civic Year. 

Christine worked in Personnel.

Christine supported The National Autistic Society during her time as Mayor.




Jim Kenny2003/04 - Councillor Jim Kenny (dec)

Councillor Jim Kenny was Mayor during the 2003/04 Civic Year.

Jim worked in Engineering.

Jim supported St Johns Ambulance during his time as Mayor.




Jan Thorley2002/03 - Councillor Jan Thorley

Councillor Jan Thorley was Mayor during the 2002/03 Civic Year.

Jan worked as a Civil Servant.

Jan supported The Guide Dogs For The Blind Association during her time as Mayor. 




Terry Syson2001/2002 - Councillor Terry Syson 

Councillor Terry Syson was Mayor during the 2001/02 Civic Year.

Terry worked in various roles, including for the Council.

Terry supported The Nottinghamshire Deaf Society during his time as Mayor.

1977 to 2001

List of Past Mayors between 1977 and 2009
Civic Year Name


Councillor K. Archer


Councillor P.D. Kiddier


Councillor W.T Fuller


Councillor H. Clifford


Councillor R. Hulland


Councillor A. Briggs


Councillor A. Morris


Councillor J. Sutton


Councillor G. Stanley


Councillor W.B. Lawlor


Councillor J.D. Taylor


Councillor S. Foster


Councillor T. Buckley


Councillor W. Shaw


Councillor J. L. Booth


Councillor H. Braithwaite


Councillor L. A. Ball


Councillor J. K. Moodie


Councillor T. Martin CdeG


Councillor J. B. White


Councillor M. I. Tewson


Councillor R. Todd


Councillor F. Prince


Councillor R. Collins

Civic Office
tel: 0115 917 3210